Skip to content

An Effort in Full Disclosure

January 3, 2010

Listen y’all, I don’t want to lie.  I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies last night (when I make any cookie you can add “spiced” to the title because I always dump something extra in there … usually cinnamon, allspice, ginger, or nutmeg, but could be anything!).  And while they are DELICIOUS … they also flattened out to look like something kind of … disgusting.  I blame it on my fears that the batter was too dry and adding vegetable oil.  Doy!  Won’t do that again.

Now I’m in the middle of Ethiopian Lentil Soup … and as far as my nearly Ethiopian-virgin pallet is concerned, it does not taste like it came from any other continent.  Arg.  We’ll see when all’s said and done and taste-tests have been performed.

But, these two recipes have led nicely into one of the lessons I’ve (tried) to learn so far in my baking/cooking/culinary voyage.  Trusting yourself is paramount.  Don’t be afraid.  Just mix it altogether and let it simmer, bake, stew, or fry away.  You’ll know in the end and as long as you cook the eggs and meat long enough, you probably won’t die from your mistakes.

Point taken, kitchen-gods, point taken.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

