Skip to content

Corn Soup

January 6, 2010
tags: ,

Delicious!  This was a really simple and yummy recipe.  I did alter it a little and also have ideas of more changes I’ll make next time.

The original recipe is from Erica at My Colombian Recipes & International Flavors.  While this recipe doesn’t seem very Colombian, it’s delicious.  Instead it reminds me of something you’d make with the leftover ingredients from Shepard’s Pie (ha, put that on the to-cook list while it’s still cold enough to stomach) and I’m excited to try more of her recipes.

Here’s Erica’s recipe and my edits:

6 Servings (Really, I think it’s about 8-10 and I was able to put away some in the freezer for future quick dinners as well as two in the fridge for the rest of this week.)

4 large ears corn, kernels scraped from the cob (I used one quart sized local corn put up from the summer!)

5 cups water (I used five, next time I’ll use 4.  Even after plenty of simmering it was still a little too thin.)
2 chicken or vegetable bouillon cubes (Only had one veggie bouillon, didn’t miss out on any flavor.)
1 garlic clove, chopped (Three.  ❤ garlic.)
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon Pepper
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro (From the garden!)
½ cup white potatoes, diced (I used 4 small white potatoes.  Probably about 2 cups, surely the reason the recipe grew.)
¼ cup chopped scallions (Didn’t have any.)
1 cup heavy cream (Also didn’t have heavy cream so I used yogurt.)

While the recipe says just to put everything in (minus cream/yogurt), bring to boil, simmer 4-5 minutes, blend, and add cream … I did it a little differently.

You might (or might not) notice that we skipped a few things: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies and Ethiopian Lentil Soup.  Classic pair.  Well, here’s what happened.  The cookies were moist and yum even if they did flatten and they are gone, gone, gone.  Ethiopian Lentil Soup?  Also a hit.  Surprise to you and me both.  Although we can’t vouch for it’s authenticity, it’s worked really well over rice with a little yogurt (cool for the bit of spice).  Because I have no practice in portion control (on my plate or in the pot) everything happens in bulk.  A few more servings in the fridge and at least one dinner put away in the freezer!

No comments yet

Leave a comment